DELAINE EASTIN: Candidate for Superintendent of
Public Instruction
-- Abbreviated list of ENDORSEMENTS

Endorsements by U.S. Congressional legislators include both
Senators from California: U.S. Senators Barbara Boxer and Dianne Feinstein. Also, Representatives Xavier Becerra, Anthony Beilen son, Howard Berman, George Brown, Jr., Ron Dellums, Don Edwards, Anna Eshoo, Sam Farr, Vic Fazio, Dan Hamburg, Jane Harman, George Miller, Norman Mineta, Nancy Pelosi, Lucille Royal-Allard, Lynne Schenk, Pete Stark, Esteban E.Torres, Maxine Waters, and Lynn C.
Woolsey are among the Congress People who have endorsed Delaine Eastin's candidacy.

Democratic Candidate for Governor (and currently State Treasurer) Kathleen Brown endorses Delaine Eastin.

The following State public officials are among Delaine Eastin's
endorsers: Lt. Governor Leo McCarthy, Acting Secretary of State Tony Miller, Controller Gray Davis, Insurance Commissioner John Garamendi.

Former Attorney General John Van de Kamp endorses Delaine Eastin.

State Senators Bill Lockyer (President Pro Tem), Al Alquist,
Daniel Boatwright, Ralph Dills, Tom Hayden, Teresa Hughes, Pat Johnston, Lucy Killea, Milton Marks, Dan McCorquodale, Henry Mello, Nicholas Petris, David Roberti, Herschel Rosenthal, Mike Thompson, Art Torres, and Diane E. Watson are all endorsers.

In the Assembly, in addition to Speaker Willie L. Brown, Jr.,
Assemblymembers Dede Alpert, Marguerite Archie-Hudson, Rusty Areias, Joe Baca, Tom Bates, Julie Bornstein, Debra Bowen, Vivien Bronshvag, Valerie Brown, John Burton, Cruz Bustamante, Louis Caldera, Bob Campbell, Sal Cannella, Tom Connelley, Dominic Cortese, Jim Costa, Bob Epple, Martha Escutia, Barbara Friedman, Michael Gotch, Thomas Hannigan, Dan Hauser, Phil Isenberg, Betty Karnette, Richard Katz, Johan Klehs, Barbara Lee, Burt Margolin, Diane Martinez, Juanita McDonald, Gwen Moore, Willard Murray, Grace Napolitano, Jack O'Connell, Richard Polanco, Byron Sher,
Margaret Snyder, Hilda S. Solis, Jackie Speier, Curtis Tucker,
Jr., Tom Umberg, and John Vasconcellos, all have endorsed Delaine Eastin.

Other individuals, private citizens who endorse Delaine Eastin
include: John Cooke, President, Disney Channel, Paul Freiman, President Syntex, Sam Ginn, CEO Airtouch Communications, Bernard J. Hargadon, Jr., President, McKesson International, Jerry Katzman, President William Morris Agency, John Kernan, Chairman and CEO, Paramount-Motion Picture Group, Sherry Lansing,
Chairwoman and CEO, Paramount Motion Picture Group, Norman Lear, President Act III Production Co., Phil Quigley, President, Pacific Bell, Scott Siegler, Past President, Columbia Pictures Television, Perry Simon, President, Viacom Television-West Coast, Richard Swig, Chairman, Fairmont Hotel Management Co.

Groups and organizations endorsing Delaine Eastin include:
ACT, Association of California School Administrators, California Federation of Teachers, California Teachers Association, American Association of University Women, California Abortion Rights Action League, California League of Conservation Voters, California Nurses Association, California Federation of Business and Professional Women, Los Angeles African-American Women Political Action Committee, National Organization for Women, California Chapter, Black Political Council, Coalition of Asian Pacific Americans, Latina Political Action Committee, the Mexican American Political Association, California Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Communication Workers of America, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, California Professional Firefighters, International Association of Machinists, International Brotherhood of Teamsters, United Auto Workers, United Steelworkers of
America, United Transport Workers, and the California Organization of Police and Sheriffs.


return to the main page

The material included in this voter guide is archived and will not be updated. Please visit the California Voter Foundation's homepage for the most current information and resources.

California Voter Foundation 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997 & 1998